top of page

Breaking Social Norms - Catcalling Men in a Bar


I chose to break social norms by cat-calling men in bars rather than the usual of men cat-calling women in bars. I honestly got the reaction that I though that I would receive, although I wish that it could have been a different one. I know that many women, including myself, do not feel comfortable by many advances made by men, including the cat-calls that are made even from distance, such as across the bar. My goal was to treat men as some treat women, and hopefully get a response of disgust and rejection. Some were not open to the idea, but most men were very flirtatious back and even would further the advances. Some, would act as if they needed to take care of me (since i pretended to be more intoxicated than i actually was.) And then there were the few who would scoff it off, as many women try to do to men. It's very interesting to see how men act in the same place as women, and how, in my opinion, I don' t think that they fully understand the situation that they are putting many women in by cat-calling them and making them vulnerable.

Save


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page