top of page

Buff Girl Comments

Comment boxes were located around campus to collect both thoughts on the mural and what it's like to be a woman on the WTAMU campus. The comments received were from multiple perspectives and it was interesting to see the different opinions of students on gender around campus. The following are an example of some responses that were gathered from our peers.

"Man, I feel like a woman"

"I see women of WT the same way I see men. I see no discrimination of women of colour or women here in general. I see no need for this."

"There are more women enrolled then men, yet we're still underestimated"

"I was fine and normal until this painting was put up..."

"I can't walk at night because I'm afraid. We have to be careful of who walks into the dorm because of rape. Instead of 'don't rape' it's 'take precaution.'"

"#blacklivesmatter"

"Much ado about nothing"

"Should we as women feel different? We are all people. No matter what. I'm a proud Buff woman. xoxo."

"Under-rated"

"I feel like being a woman at WT is empowering. I have yet to be underestimated or treated different due to my gender."

"Women are made to loved not understood. Women were also made to be strong, yet gentle. It is not weak to let a man do something kind for you like open the door. Ladies be strong enough to do it yourself but humble enough to let him do it for you. #offmysoapbox"

"It's kind of scary walking to my car at night or walking back to the dorm and passing a group of mien or a man walking towards me."

"Women's Rights. Heh."

"Nowadays it's really good to be a woman. We've come such a long way in such a short amount of time compared to men."

"I'm the first ever woman in the WT Herdsmen, and though there have been rough spots, I still love it. There's not another group I'd rather be with."

"Being a woman feels like...IDK"

"As a woman here at WT I've never had a reason to worry. I feel like WT is a safe campus even though my mom worries."

"Really cool sometimes"

"Your mom!"

"What does it matter"

"I feel as if WT is very male oriented, bu that only fuels my fire to succeed. It adds more importance to the issue at hand."

"You aren't married yet!?"

"I'm a woman of color and...It can be awkward and uncomfortable at times but eventually you'll get over it. I feel I won't connect with most of the students here, which is why I stay to myself most of the time. I also feel people stare."

"I see women at WT as very strong women who are sometimes over objectified. I think WT potentially has the strongest, smartest women here."

"Everyone thinks I'm looking for an MRS degree or a baby daddy."

"I feel like embracing my womanhood is an invitation for men to belittle me. I'm smart and proud to be a woman, and it would be nice for a man to view me like I view myself."

"There's literally always a group of guys sitting in the windows of the JBK checking out every single girl that walks in. It's disgusting."

"I walked around one evening on, like, my first day on campus and got catcalled twice. I can't go anywhere without a girlfriend or a guy I really trust, because I don't want to walk home alone at night. I'd like to be able to be more independent."

"A piece of 'ass' that has the 'privilege' of being whistled and hollered at by the male pigs on campus."

"I think that women play a great role on this campus. they are head of offices, involved in the senate. Woman play great roles"

" I don't like that boys stand outside the JBK and objectify women who go inside."

"I feel like a juicy steak. No respect for women"

"Constantly afraid to walk around at night in fear of being cat called and harassed."

"Empowered but also looked down on"

"I mean...it's a'ight."

"Underrepresented"

"Being yourself and being successful means that you msut have something to prove. It's not enough to be yourself."

"No ifs, ands, or buts; women are 50% of all humans."

"Imagine a WT campus without actually having women on ti. The picture doesn't quite fit, right? EXACTLY!! We are an integral part of the campus."

"Being a girl is expensive. I didn't choose the girl life, the girl life chose me."

"I feel that I am a unique individual with equal rights as anyone else on campus."

"It sometimes feels as if we're outnumbered, but those of us that are here are so well established, it makes me feel as if I can accomplish my goals."

"Men in class consistently talk over me as a young woman otherwise I feel that there are lots of strong, intelligent women on campus and lots of feminist role models."

"Pretty normal - I've never experienced anything unusual."

"I see women as a strong part of the WT community. They are able to add their unique perspectives of the gender difference they encounter every day in society."

"What happened here? Has this woman been cursed by the gods? Why is she nude? Why is she lying on a luxurious sheet?"

"It means to be proud but cautious."

"I feel empowered as a woman at WT. I am a female engineer at WT, in a field dominated by men, and I feel encouraged to represent women well - Women can be engineers!"

"I like being a female. the males treat me as equal."

"For me, it's pretty normal. I do see a lot of cat calling for some girls. So I think it's pretty horrible that we live in a time that that's normal."

"I have experienced a guy expecting girls to upt out and agree to anything. I believe they still see themselves as superior."

"I believe that WTAMU gives women opportunity to follow their dreams."

"Social norms prevail for men and women."

~~~~~~~~~

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page