top of page

Theatre Students Comment on What it Means to be a Woman at WT


I knew when I made this comment box I would place it in the Theatre Green Room in the Fine Arts Center. The question was "What is it like to be a woman at WT?" Never would I have thought that so many comments would be placed in that box. And to my dismay, most of the comments written were negative: "I feel like a piece of meat." "I hate being catcalled in the JBK." etc. Everyone knows, people pursuing the arts are the first to (dramatically) speak out against their oppressors. This instance was no different. What I found interesting, is in the Green Room, or on stage, or in class, none of the male theatre majors fit these negative comments their female classmates made. I started to wonder, and I deduced that it was outside of the theatre department that the women felt an unfair balance. Furthermore, I came to the theory that because our theatre department considers itself a family, why would the men degrade the women by treating them any lesser? The friendship and respect is there between all of us. I concluded that catcalling is prevalent in environments of lack of respect.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page